Committees & Volunteers

The Foundation’s Committees are typically chaired by a member of the Board. Some Committees may be comprised solely of members of the Board while others may include volunteers from the Sunshine Coast community. A list of current committees is found below. Unless a committee member is described as a volunteer, the committee member is also a Board member. The chair of the Board sits as a de facto member on all committees. The Executive Director is an ex officio member of all committees.


  • Chair – Manjit Kang
  • Vice Chair – Doug Allan
  • SecretaryJudy Rother
  • Treasurer – Chad Price
  • Member-at-LargeElfie Hofmann

Board Renewal Committee

  • Chair – Elfie Hofmann
  • Judy Rother, Doug Allan, Janice Iverson

Human Resources Committee (delegated to Executive Committee)

Investment and Oversight Committee

  • Chair – Chad Price
  • Doug Allan, Manjit Kang, Janice Iverson, Catharine Esson, 

Fund Development Committee

  • Chair – Lonnie propas
  • Manjit Kang, Elfie Hofmann, Vicki Dobbyn, Don Basham

Fund Development Sub-committee on Deeds

  • Chair – Dave Doig
  • Carmen Sombrowski

Policy Committee

  • ChairDoug Allan 
  • Vicki Dobbyn, Catharine Esson

Grants Committee

  • ChairDenise Woodley
  • Board MembersDoug Allan, Dave Doig, Judy Rother
  • Community Volunteers Patrice Pollack, Catharine Esson, Stephen Forgacs
  • Non-voting AdvisorVicki Dobbyn, Cathy Smider

Vital Signs Committee

  • Interim Chair – Vicki Dobbyn
  • Catharine Esson, Doug Allan

Volunteer Coordinator

  • Judy Rother 

Jonathan Mason Hird

The Sunshine Coast Foundation is grateful to have received a final gift from long-time Gibsons’ resident, Jon Hird, as a bequest in his will. The Foundation is one of the organizations that benefited from Jon’s selflessness. Jon heard about the Foundation from a close friend, who was also a caregiver to Jon during his illness. Jon cared deeply for his chosen community and he felt privileged to be able to give back.